Wallaroo - Copper Triangle Region, South Australia.

Wallaroo is one of three copper town at the head of Yorke Peninsula. The copper is gone but the town flourished for a long time after that thanks to its fertiliser factory. More recently it has become a popular tourist and retirement spot, with a large marina. The wealth and population of the Copper Triangle Region presumably explains why there are three fine Victorian towns (Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo) within such a short distance of each other - unusual for South Australia.

Click on a thumbnail to view the whole photo along with a description.

Click Here to return to the Photos index.